🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I am no game developer...

Started by
15 comments, last by CanvasBushi 4 years, 3 months ago

But I want to make one. I have an idea. I have a story. I have characters, enemies and abilities. I know how the combat and movement should work. I know what I want my character to be. I have the world in my head.

What I don't have, is ability. I can't code. I can't draw character models. I don't even know how to properly make a level that feels good to play and isn't too long or short. I've talked to a couple of people about it, and they say that I should at least have one skill that's directly involved in creating the game, but I'm not too sure.

I think… that what I want to take on more of a manager role to the whole project. I would tell the people with actual skills what I want from them, and pay them for their work.

My question: Am I wrong? Should I learn one of the skills needed to create the project, to say that I added in my own touch? Or should my contribution be me setting the direction and deciding what works for the project?

Advertisement

before Tom Sloper ruin your dreams, you should probably ask a banker this question because i dont see why you need "skills" to hire a game development team to build your dream game. In fact publisher X probably didnt make the game you've just spent 600 hours playing although it was advertised as if they wrote every line of code and sculpted every polygon.

Hello JJAHMS,