🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

So I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing.

Started by
5 comments, last by PopetheRevXXVIII 3 years, 11 months ago

I have characters I've been sitting on variants of for the last 25 years. I had been in school for Psychology for the last 10 years but a bout of depression and a bad therapist made me rethink that career path. With no idea possible idea of what to do with my life I decided to make video games. Thing is all I can do is design levels, and write the story I need people for everything else.

Finding people has been hard. Figuring out how to pay for everything is even harder as I have absolutely no money for this venture and I live in Rhode Island, Like this state is going to dump money on another game studio. At the very least I'm going to try to build a team get something crapped out and try crowd funding. I think In terms of starting a studio and getting funding I have no idea what I'm doing. The actual design of the game I have an idea, it's the building the team and getting funding that I have no idea about. I can't expect a team to work for free after all but I also need people to help me build something so I CAN get funding. A friend of mine suggested hiring people off Fiverr to help with some art and stuff. I found 2 people willing to help me with music. I need programmers and artists (and already made a thread for that and I guess there was some interest)

So where do I even get started? Aside from my ideas, and the game story and a basic lay out of what the game will be (adjusted for a budget of absolutely nothing) I don't know what else to do. I have thought about taking development classes, not to learn anything but just to recruit people.