🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

A decent (ideally simple) C# MMO game server example?

Started by
10 comments, last by Armchair-Advisor 3 years, 2 months ago

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here, but hopefully not the last one (and hopefully I'll be able to provide support rather than asking for it shortly).

I'm a software engineer with a few years of experience, working predominantly with C# (but also other tech stacks).

I'm very keen to learn more about game dev and figured that the best way to do that in my case would be to look at some good examples.

And so here I am: I'd like to ask you guys if there are any example games (MMO) / game servers that you'd recommend me to take a look at in my pursuit of knowledge? What I'm interested in finding is the libraries and project structures most suitable for use in game dev (server side) and certain techniques specific to building real-time game server.

Ideally I'm looking for .NET Core / C# examples, but Java, Go or Rust would do too. The aspects I'm interested in the most are networking, communications (protocols, encryption, etc.) and state management.

While I have a pretty decent idea how I could approach it, I also value the lessons that come from people who've been there before me.

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

MMOs are really hard to build. Not mainly because of technology (although that matters, too) but because of the massive amount of content you have to build to support a massive playerbase, and then the massive amount of marketing you have to do to actually reach a massive playerbase.

Because of this, they generally aren't “open source,” and thus, it's not that common to see publicly available code for a MMO.