🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How to get my networked game online?

Started by
6 comments, last by hplus0603 3 years, 2 months ago

Hi,

I've been working on a networked multiplayer game. I am an experienced game engine programmer, but haven't done much network programming since the mid-2000s. I've been testing my game locally using localhost and everything works fine. Today I tried to do an online test and was unable to figure out how to allow others to connect to my PC. I added port exceptions to Windows firewall and my router, but online tests say that the port is blocked. At this point I've come to the conclusion that in the interests of security my ISP is blocking incoming connections.

My next though was to use an online service like Amazon Web Services or Microsoft Azure. I spent the entire evening perplexed by their websites. They want you to use their services with invasive APIs that require lots of third-party code and JSON parsing and all kinds of weird stuff. I just want a server where I can dump my executable, run it, and have clients open sockets to connect to it. Seems like it shouldn't be difficult.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Aaron

Advertisement

You have to add port forwarding to your router or else it won't know which IP is the recipient of connection requests from the internet. A possible cause of this not working is if your provider runs IP clustering. This means you and a couple of other people are using the same public IP address and your provider manages connections using different port ranges.