🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Why sync client and server tick?

Started by
10 comments, last by Armchair-Advisor 3 years, 2 months ago

I have been working on my networking solution in Unity for a few months now. I have implemented a delta compression system where I compress commands and states etc and have implemented client-side prediction, and I still don't understand why would I sync the client and server tick, other than to schedule future events to happen at the same time both on the client and the server (for example, to have a bomb explode at the same time regardless of latency). But most things that I think of are instantaneous, for action games almost everything happens without anticipation. Therefore I feel like syncing the tick is not really worth it?