🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Calculate AO on the fly?

Started by
6 comments, last by Shem_Namo 2 years, 11 months ago

Hey guys, how's it going?

Is it possible to calculate Ambient Occlusion without having to render the Z and Normals data to a texture?

I have access to the Depth and Normals information inside the fragment shader, so is there a way to just calculate AO inside the fragment shader?

I know the most common way to calculate AO is in Screen Space, but are there any other ways that it can be done?

Thanks in Advance, Shem

Advertisement

Consider the neighboring texels. I'm by no means an expert on fragment shaders, but isn't the point that you're writing to several pixels in parallel, so it wouldn't know the depth values of its neighbors? That's why you use a texture AFAIK.

If you know the model and can make some assumptions, you could fake it; but it wouldn't be a one-size fits all.
For instance, if the model already represents a depth map or has a point where stuff gets naturally darker, you could just darken the fragment as you went along.

But for some proper, general AO, I think you'll be sampling a texture anyhow.

Shem_Namo said:
I know the most common way to calculate AO is in Screen Space, but are there any other ways that it can be done?

Option 1: Bake AO to textures. But that's per object then, so multiple objects won't occlude each other.

Option 2: Calculate AO in world space, e.g. using raytracing, voxel cone tracing, SDF sphere tracing, etc.
But if you do this expensive stuff in pixel shader, chances are a triangle drawn later overwrites those results, so that's a total waste and redundant work for opaque geometry. Would make sense only for transparent stuff.