🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Writer looking for a team

Started by
2 comments, last by Shaarigan 3 years ago

I am new to GameDev.net so I'm not sure I'm putting this in the right place. Also any tips on utilizing the Portfolios or Careers portions of this site would be much appreciated.

This is broken into sections, so just skip to whatever sections are important to you. I'll do my best to keep each short. This is meant to start a conversation, not be the complete story of me. Contact me for writing samples.

Credentials/Background

A lifetime ago (after high school) I entered the Full Sail program for game design and development. I loved the design and story aspects of the curriculum, but the C++ parts of the course, not so much. It turns out programming is hard. I built upon my interest in writing at Missouri State University, where I earned my degree in Media Studies, with minors in Screenwriting and Creative Writing. After graduating I spent four years in Los Angeles pursuing a screenwriting career. Finally I moved to the east coast to start a family and pursue a more traditional (stable) career path. For the most part that's been great, except for being totally creatively unfulfilled. So here I am.

In total I've made about ten short indie/student films. I've written at least fifty screenplays, teleplays, pilots, treatments, pitches, and short stories (and several game design documents, just for fun). I've also written critiques for hundreds of works by other writers, including doing script coverage for a major management company in L.A.

What I Bring to the Table