🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

C++ Practice for familiarity

Started by
3 comments, last by shubham.puri.7742 2 years, 11 months ago

Hello,
I am new to C++ and would like to find some simple projects to practice some of the more unique things in C++. I recently picked up a book by Bjarne Stroustrup to get into it. I also want to get more familiar with Unreal Engine, but I am afraid to mess around with the Unreal keywords when I do not know C++.

Thanks for any feedback, I know the only way to get better is to do it and practice, but I am afraid to make progress in the wrong way.

Advertisement

MuggaSlie said:
I am afraid to make progress in the wrong way.

Don't be afraid to learn. Try things. Get things wrong. Learn.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Along with your copy of Stroustrup, there is the book STL Tutorial and Reference Guide: C++ Programming with the Standard Template Library by Musser, et al. You need to get this book. The books are a little old, so they don't cover the latest and greatest features of C++. To compensate, check out https://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp​ – for instance, check out filesystem support, or threading, or other stuff like that.

Learn about the STL, especially when it comes to iterators. If you find yourself using new[]/delete[], chances are good that you can replace that code with a std::vector – no more potential memory leaks. You'll also want to look up std::map, std::set, etc.

I'm not certain about Unreal Engine 5, but I've been advised that Unreal Engine 4 does not rely on the STL. Still, you should know the STL.

Whatever you do… DO NOT USE THE AUTO KEYWORD!!! YES I'M YELLING LOL…