🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

"Pixelation" when temporally reprojecting previous frames

Started by
2 comments, last by microsista 2 years, 9 months ago

Hello,
I am a student building his own real-time pathtracer. It already includes distributed global illumination with fuzzy reflections, soft shadows etc.

The problem with this application is that I only use a single sample per pixel for all effects, so the result is very noisy. I am using spatial denoising, but that is not enough to get rid of aliasing, so I also have to use temporal denoising reprojecting previous frames onto the current one.

When I move the camera, previous frame does not align with the current one, so if I don't do anything, I get ugly ghosting artifacts in motion. I solved this by devaluing previous frame accumulation buffer, but then I don't get temporal denoising in motion, and every time I stop the camera it has to build-up the accumulation buffer from scratch.

My solution to this issue was to create a velocity buffer calculating position of the current pixel's world-space position in the previous frame by multiplying by the previous frame view-projection matrix and subtracing it from the current frame screen-space position in the ray-gen shader like that:

float4 currentFramePosition = mul(float4(payload.prevHitPosition, 1.0f), inverse(g_sceneCB.projectionToWorld));
float4 previousFramePosition = mul(float4(payload.prevHitPosition, 1.0f), g_sceneCB.prevFrameViewProj);
g_rtTextureSpaceMotionVector[dtid] = (currentFramePosition.xy / currentFramePosition.w - previousFramePosition.xy / previousFramePosition.w) * float2(0.5f, -0.5f) + float2(0.5f, 0.5f);