🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

[Volunteer] Programmer (unpaid)

Started by
3 comments, last by SirG 2 years, 9 months ago

Hi there,

I’m a passionate Software Developer experienced in all web-based software and technologies, who is in search of a team, which is open to give me a chance to prove myself in programming game logic, even if I can’t offer a Resume inside this field of work.

Preferably, I would like to join a more experienced team that already implemented some standards, workflows, CI and so on. If there are still things that could need improvement, I may also like to share thoughts.

The most skills I have built up for the following Tech Stack: PHP, JavaScript, Docker, K8s, MariaDB, Nginx, Debian, Git. But I also worked my way into C++, Rust and C#.

Even if my Systems Language Programming side is still rusty, I’m learning fast by examples, looking at other people’s code, looking stuff up and listen to feedback.

I’m thinking about spending ~20 hours per week.

FYI: I AM ALREADY JOINING UP WITH SOMEONE NOW!!! BUT I AM ALWAYS OPEN FOR CONNECTING WITH PEOPLE THAT ARE THINKING ALIKE :-)

discord: damichl#6663

None

Advertisement

Sounds like you could bring a lot of value to a team if you contribute as much as 20 hours per week and considering your experience. I would like to give two points from my own experience so far.

1. Gamedev is quite different from web/embedded development. The question for me has been whether to focus on learning a game engine well or learning fundamentals, like graphics programming, so that I can then learn game engines more easily later on. I've ended up doing a bit of both. I have realized that getting good at gamedev programming takes years even for a programmer experienced outside of gamedev.