🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Spherical Billboard of a Line Strip with Geometry Shader in OpenGL

Started by
0 comments, last by padkanel 2 years, 8 months ago

Hello everyone! I'm new to the forums here and kinda new to OpenGL programming. I'm going to document my progress so far, so it's going to be a bit lengthy post, but please bear with me! Here goes:

I'm interested in rendering hair in real time using OpenGL, so I studied Nvidia's presentation from SIGGRAPH 2010. In it, they suggest rendering each line segment as camera facing quad instead of the GL_LINE_STRIP primitive. Here is the full quote from the presentation:

The other option instead of rendering hair directly as lines is to expand the line segments into camera facing quads. That is, for each line segment, we expand it into two triangles that are facing the camera.

This expansion is pretty easy, and can be done for example in the Geometry Shader. We specify the input primitive for the Geometry Shader to be a line (two vertices), from these we can figure out the tangent, and taking the cross product of that with the eye vector gives us the two axis to expand the quad.”

My camera is built following the tutorial found here: https://learnopengl.com/Getting-started/Camera

The camera class is:

class Camera{
public:
   // camera Attributes
   glm::vec3 Position;
   glm::vec3 Front;
   glm::vec3 Up;
   glm::vec3 Right;
   glm::vec3 WorldUp;
   // euler Angles
   float Yaw;
   float Pitch;
   // camera options
   float MovementSpeed;
   float MouseSensitivity;
   float Zoom;

// ... (camera functions) ...
}

For the “eye vector”, I use the Front vector of the camera class. The line coordinates are passed in a VBO. Here is the Veretx Shader:

guide_vertex_shader.glsl

#version 430

layout (location = 0) in vec3 aPos;