🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

websockets, websocketpp, ssl

Started by
2 comments, last by h8CplusplusGuru 2 years, 8 months ago

I am trying to write a c++ websocket serverand have browser/chrome clients connect over websockets, for a multiplayer game. The websocket c++ library I'm using atm is websocketpp or websocket++. I wrote an app that allows clients to connect over ws and localhost, but when I add an ip for the address, connections don't occur at all. Now I think I have to use ssl and wss for ip connection? I tried it and there is some connection activity, but then the handshake times out. Could I be experiencing cross-orgin issues, or what, do i need ssl? I am new to websockets. Could the problem be my ssl certs i made with openssl? I can post code, or if you are familiar with a c++ library to do websockets, what is it?

Advertisement

Whether you use ws or wss should be orthogonal to whether you're using IP or localhost

If you're using IP then make sure that the IP is actually reachable from your client – no NAT in the way, for example, and not using the “outside” IP address when the client is “inside” your firewall. Also, make sure that network interface is allowed through whatever firewall software you're using.