🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Client/server connection for mobile game

Started by
3 comments, last by hplus0603 2 years, 6 months ago

Hello.

I am new to game development and i want to create multiplayer mobile game on unity.

I do not know programming so i am going to hire programmers to make game for me, but first i have to know about some details about it. I would like to make massive real time multiplayer game with more then 16 players ingame. As i was suggested i should make client/server based game.

So should i develop the game first and then make client/server connection or should i start programming client/server based game from the beginning?

As i said i am going to hire a programmers so if one of them will make a game itself will i be able to find another programmer which will be able to make client/server connection with it? or should i give first programmer some rules to follow in order to make job easier for second one? Will second programmer be able to code client/server connection on the game developed by another person?

If you have some suggestions for me you can share them, as i am beginner it would be helpful.

Thank you in advance.

Advertisement

What kind of game is it? It's very common to use servers for multiplayer games, but sometimes the game can be demanding in a way that needs more servers or for the clients to talk to oneanother.

Please talk about your idea with sw architects first, and flesh out a design from there.

GiorgiDev said:
So should i develop the game first and then make client/server connection or should i start programming client/server based game from the beginning?