🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

[Hobby] Looking for Game Designer to start a small project

Started by
4 comments, last by Calin 1 year, 11 months ago

Hi there! We are looking for someone to fill the position of Game Designer in our soon-to-be team of hobbyists.

The idea is to start small by making a simple game with a tight gameplay loop and non-complex mechanics. Then we could consider taking on a more ambitious project if we can succeed in making a simple one first.

A bit about myself

I'm a 25 years old developer by trade, I have a master's degree from a Computer Science School in Paris, France and have been working as a web/software/3D developer for 6 years (including 4 years as an intern during my studies). As you might have guessed, I will take on the role of Programmer for our project.

• I contribute in my spare time to the AzerothCore project, an open-source game server application for World of Warcraft.
  • I worked as a gameplay and network programmer on a school project: Shooter Trooper, a mobile game in which you manage troops and lead them through strategic battles.
  • Various personal projects, here is a link to my GitHub page if you're interested in taking a peek at them: https://github.com/r-o-b-o-t-o

About the other team member

She has been working as a Lead VFX Artist in the video game industry for 4 years, and will be taking on the position of Graphics Artist in the team.

• She has worked as a VFX Artist on many industry projects, including multiple AAA games.
  • She worked on the art for RoomBattle, a GlobalGameJam 2021 entry.

The project

We don't really have any specific ideas set in stone for now, but we know that we would like to keep it as simple as possible for our first undertaking.