🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Getting started building a "Manager" simulator style game

Started by
9 comments, last by flodihn 1 year, 5 months ago

Hello,

I want to build a ‘manager’ style game. A bit like Football Manager but for business. It would be 2D with limited graphics but the game needs to simulate how variables evolve (i.e. money made) as the player takes actions.

I have no game development experience. I have downloaded Unity and a, looking at their tutorials but I don't even know what ‘type’ of things to learn. I have no interest in learning about 3D graphics, shooters or anything like that.

Can anyone give me some keywords to search for so I can learn the skills I need to make this game?

Thanks,

KO

Advertisement

Unity is probably not a good choice for a management style game, because those games rely a lot on complex UI, and Unity is not good for complex UI. That's not to say that it can't work, just that you make your life harder that way. It might help if you can find a 3rd party asset to purchase that would help with the UI element, but I don't know of one that I could recommend.

Sadly, there isn't one single ‘best route’ for how you should go about this - it depends on several factors:

• Do you care about being able to sell the game or not?
  • Do you need the game to run in a web browser?
  • Do you have any programming experience?
  • Just how ‘limited’ can the graphics be?