🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I want to learn C++ Directx9

Started by
10 comments, last by bmarci 1 year, 3 months ago

Hello, I would like your help on a subject that I have been trying to learn for a long time.

I have basic c++ knowledge but no knowledge of directx9 at all. The project I was working on was using directx8,
I updated the libraries and source codes to directx9.

Naturally, they didn't do me any good. New Directx9 compatible lightings, new shadows, new filters, new alpha channels etc. I want to use it, but unfortunately I have no information about how they are created, how they are applied and how they should be designed. I couldn't find a clear guide on this either. For example, how can I learn about the usage logic of concepts such as SaveTransform and SetTexture? I would really appreciate if you have examples that you can share with me.

Sorry for the bad english, thanks.

Advertisement

If you have no knowledge of DX9 then you should learn DX9 first. There are many tutorials on the web, try searching "DirectX9 tutorials" or grab a book on DX9.

cvaqabond said:
The project I was working on was using directx8

DX8 released November 2000, superseded in December 2002. End of life back in 2006.

cvaqabond said:
I updated the libraries and source codes to directx9.

DX9 released December 2002, with suplemental version 9.0b, 9.0c, and 9.0ex. It was superseded in November 2006. End of life began in 2010.

DirectX 10 ended support back in 2016.

DirectX 11 was tied to Windows 7 with an End Of Life in 2020.

DirectX 11.1 was tied to Windows 8 with an End Of Life two months ago, January 2023.