🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Why is the site so slow?

Started by
18 comments, last by fleabay 11 months, 3 weeks ago

I haven't been active since 2011. Clearly, much has changed. However, the site is painfully slow. Any internal link takes seconds to load. This is the only site that I have this problem with and it's not a cookie or cache issue, again, since I haven't been active in over a decade.

Is this a known issue, or could it have something to do with the inactive profile? Why is my user name in my account settings “MarkS156960”?

No, I am not a professional programmer. I'm just a hobbyist having fun...

Advertisement

Could this be part of the problem? When I click on my profile picture and then “My Profile” from the drop down menu, I get this:

Is there someone I can contact directly? This, “Problems should be reported through the Support system, accessible through your Profile menu," does not exist due to the profile menu issue I'm experiencing.

MarkS said:
Could this be part of the problem? When I click on my profile picture and then “My Profile” from the drop down menu, I get this:

This might be a problem with your profile (I get normally my profile with latest activity, etc.).

MarkS said:
However, the site is painfully slow. Any internal link takes seconds to load. This is the only site that I have this problem with and it's not a cookie or cache issue, again, since I haven't been active in over a decade.

It took 131 requests to load this, 2.3 MB transferred (total 14.0 MB resources), loading in about 1.66s. Not great, not terrible. If I'm not mistaken - the upkeep and development is done in free time. I believe you can send message to @khawk directly - I have a feeling he is in charge of development (or doing some/most of it). I might be wrong though.