🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Story probs

Started by
7 comments, last by Amateur GP 22 years, 5 months ago
I am a writer by nature and I have a story that I think would make a great game. My problem is that the story changes viewpoints sometime around every 2-3 pages. Should I break the storyline into the individual characters and write their viewpoints into the game or ....??? No electrons were harmed in the creation of this message. THINK -- it gives you something to do while the computer is down. To err is human. To really screw things up you need a computer.
No electrons were harmed in the creation of this message. THINK -- it gives you something to do while the computer is down. To err is human. To really screw things up you need a computer.
Advertisement
It depends why you are switching viewpoints. If you are writing in rotating or alternating first person so you can show the thoughts of different characters, that''s probably not going to work because it''s very difficult to put thoughts in the player''s mind. If you are writing in rotating or alternating distant third because you''re portraying svents happening at different places, that would be very easy to translate to a game. Wild Arms for Playstation is an example of a game that effectively uses multiple viewpoints.

I want to help design a "sandpark" MMO. Optional interactive story with quests and deeply characterized NPCs, plus sandbox elements like player-craftable housing and lots of other crafting. If you are starting a design of this type, please PM me. I also love pet-breeding games.

Also take a look at FF3(6), which at some point, split the game into 3 branching stories which all lead back to a single location, effectively merging them back into 1 story.
*********-.o-**********