🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What game types require zero animation

Started by
10 comments, last by Orymus3 6 years, 7 months ago

As a solo game designer, I can buy assets for games. But I've concluded that animations for everything would be too difficult to find or too expensive. So I'd like to think of some game types that don't necessarily need animation, or only require the most basic of animations (maybe an explosion or particle effect here or there). 

The main idea that comes to mind is a collectible card game. Or I could literally go text-based rpg game. Any other ideas?

Mend and Defend

Advertisement

Certain Visual Novel titles have no animations, just still images that shift.

Many turn-based or event-based games don't require them.  Animation can mean simple motion and does not necessarily mean fancy graphics, there were (and are still) many active games that have been implemented in text. 

There are text-based implementations of many long-lived games. Tetris clones, Breakout clones, Pac Man clones, Space Invaders, Snake, minesweeper, various maze games, Air Traffic Control, missile defense, Frogger,  and many pong clones, all done in text fairly easily. Then there are many games that were originally text, such as the old Ski games.  On a modern text display you can do nearly anything done on the old game systems like the 2600 or Odyssey. 

Pure text games, especially those around forming words, spelling words, matching letters, or guessing text items, these can directly work without animation at all.

Need more?

Assuming you have no problem using single frames of graphics and potentially moving it around:

Scrolling shooters.
Card games (collectable or traditional)
Board games
Trading/Entrepreneur games (buy low sell high)
Strategy games.