🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Blender: Is this a bad topology?

Started by
6 comments, last by Choo Wagga Choo Choo 5 years ago

BLENDER.png

I'm new to sculpting. I tried to create the Captain Qwark from the Ratchet and Clank game series. This is the result of 12 hours of sculpting but its also my first time ? 

5414-qwark-3688.png

I used only the Grab, Smooth, Clay Strips, and Pitch tool since I'm still trying to figure out the rest of the brushes. Also, I did not use dyntopo but the multiresolution modifier. Mostly the model was created using the grab and the smooth tool.

Is it good for a first try? Is the topology meshed messed up? I noticed that using the grap tool was actually meshing a little the shape of the vertices in a way that they won't look very quadratic. I has seen that good modeling in wireframe looks like a lot of very good shaped and defined quads that wrap the entire model something like that

hBE8L8Q.png

but I'm uncertain how to keep this nice shape of quads when sculpting. When I start with a base shape (using the skin modifier and subdivision surface) I have a nice shape with quads. But the when I'm using the grab tool it messes it.

What am I doing wrong? How can I improve myself?

Thank you.

Edited:

This is the process I followed:

First I created a skeleton of my model starting only with one vertice and extruding it out.

Then I used a skin, subdivision surface with 1 view and mirror modifiers to create the base of my model. I used only 1 subdivision to keep things simple at first.

Then I applied all the above modifiers and added a new one, a multiresolution modifier with 4 subdivisions.

Then I sculpted the model mostly using the grab and the smooth tool.