🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Sending different types of information via network

Started by
6 comments, last by Loomina 3 years, 8 months ago

Hi!

I'm very new to networking and am still trying to understand basic stuff but my question is how do games handle sending all types of data? For example sending movement data or animation data or other stuff. How do they package their data so its easy for for the server to decide what kind of data it is?

The only thing I can come up with is making an enum and having the different types of data In there and just prefixing the network packets with that. Meaning packets look like this = Enum.Datatype.Input + Input.W.

So I'm just trying to find out how I don't have to write a bunch of if statements on my server for all the data that's coming in.

Hope the question makes sense and thank you for any help!

Advertisement

That's the gist of it, yes. If you're working with binary data, you may have a dedicated structure that is transmitted, and the structure always has the “type” as the 1st entry.

If we're talking C/C++, it could even use a union after it to define the possible data types, so something like this:

enum TDataTYpe {
  TYPE_CHAT = 0,
  TYPE_POSITION,
  TYPE_ACTION,
  TYPE_MAX
};

struct TDataPacket {
  TDataType DataType;
  uint32_t FromPlayerId;
  union {
    char ChatString[MAX_CHAT_STRING];
    TPositionData PosData;
    TActionData ActionData;
  };
};

And then you're parse the data type to determine which data element to access.

Of course, there are tons of other ways to do this, but that's just a simple example I've used in the past.

My Gamedev Journal: 2D Game Making, the Easy Way

---(Old Blog, still has good info): 2dGameMaking
-----
"No one ever posts on that message board; it's too crowded." - Yoga Berra (sorta)