🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What kind of network backend scope/magnitude can I expect for a CCG?

Started by
4 comments, last by Tom Sloper 1 year, 10 months ago

Hi everyone, I'm new to game development and have been developing my own CCG. Can anyone here tell me what I could expect for a rough cost estimate associated with establishing a network backend for a CCG? I'm assuming the viable option is through a game server host entity, like Vultr, AWS or IBM. Here are some assumptions regarding the game:

• Played in the US only
  • Peak user load of 1 million players/day (this may sound very unrealistic, but assume so anyway)
  • If this is at all relevant: PvP can be 1v1 or 3v3

I'm guessing I might just have to talk to these companies myself, but was curious to know if the gamedev community had insight on this. Given we're talking about a CCG, I'm expecting the network backend to not be anything required to support something like WoW, FFXIV, Runescape, Destiny… you get the point. Let me know of any other info needed, and if anyone has other references I could take a look at, please provide them.

Thanks!

Advertisement

You will need a lot of additional information, such as how many servers you will scale to, how much of a database backing you will use, your bandwidth to/from the servers, your needed processing power, and your hosting.

Something on the order of 5000 simple database transactions per second can work for a data backend. The easier work (like cached results) can be faster, slower updates and scans will stall. You will need to profile your own application to know its limits.

We'd need to know a lot more (on average – there will of course be a distribution):

• How many seconds per action?
  • How many actions per player per match?
  • how many players per match?