🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What is actually needed to build a live service online game

Started by
5 comments, last by frob 1 year, 11 months ago

Hi everyone,

I would like to know what is actually needed in terms of technology to build an online game.
I'm asking this because I've seen a lot of different solutions, but I can't seem to figure out what to use and when.

So for example I would like to make an online game similar to the old pokemon games.
Things I would like to have are the following

Login/Register - People need to be able to create a account login etc.
Multiple server worlds - This would represent the world the players are in something like World - 1
Chat - That would reach out over all worlds.

I've had some experience messing around with all of these things but still, I never seem to be satisfied with the result.
In terms of technologies, I would like to use Unity & regular C# as backend.

These are some questions I can't seem to wrap my head around?

1 - I've made an API with .net core and a login system, so my client logs in and receives an authentication token.
Now I would like my user to pick a world where he should connect to a game server, how should the game server be aware of his authentication code? Should the API have a connection to the world?

2 - A user is walking around in my game server and he picks up an item, it's added to his inventory and now I would like to inform the database this user has an item, and right now I'm using .net core for that with the EntityFramework which I would like to remain using. Would the server make a call to the .net core API as well?

It would be really helpful if anyone could share maybe a diagram of how to flow should be with the connections.

Thank you already in advanced

None

Advertisement

Applefruit said: